The Promise of Tomorrow

“I am definitely going to do this first thing tomorrow “. “I don’t feel like it today, but I will definitely start tomorrow”

These are the two most common lines that I repeat to myself. I very religiously recite them everyday, without fail. Whenever there is an important work to be done, I get all excited and enthusiastic about it at first. I make plans, I draw up deadlines. I start building castles in the air. “I am going to do this and this. That is a tricky part but this is trivial so I can manage”. But then arrives procrastination the great and within seconds destroys all the beautiful castles I had built and occupies the huge barren land that is my brain. Now this procrastination, it is a cunning ruler. Once it occupies a territory, it brings its subjects under a spell that makes them want to be ruled by it forever. The spell makes its subjects believe that if it rules long enough, then it will lead to a new era called Tomorrow-where everything will be better and easier. In the meantime, under the influence of the spell, the subjects all become completely idle, doing nothing. The great river thoughts starts to dry up, and the idea plants, which had just started flowering, begin to wither away. After a while, the subjects realise what is happening and try very hard to break the spell but their strength is not sufficient to overcome the great king’s spell. Just then, arrives a mysterious person from the feared land of deadline, bearing with him a powerful weapon-last minute madness. With this weapon, the subjects successfully defeat the tyrant and the land starts living and functioning again. (Here, it is interesting to note that the promised land of Tomorrow was realised once the king was defeated.)

And that is basically how I get anything done. Every single time. In fact, this is exactly what happened when I decided to write this blog. This blog was conceived about four months prior to this post but it took me three months to actually start a blog and another month to start writing the actual post. And now that it is finally done, I can procrastinate in peace for my second post.

Leave a Reply

